Mandatory Minimum Accessibility Standards For All homes

Today Abigail called for NSW to follow the lead of almost every other state in Australia and implement mandatory minimum accessibility standards for all homes.

Ms Boyd says—


I give notice that on the next sitting day I will move: 

(1) That this House acknowledges the Building Better Homes Campaign and its success in lobbying Queensland, the Northern Territory, the Australian Capital Territory, South Australia, Victoria and Tasmania to successfully commit to adopting the new mandatory minimum accessibility standards in the National Construction Code. 

(2) That this House notes that: 

  1. since Australia's voluntary Livable Housing Guidelines were introduced in 2010, only 5 per cent of new home builds meet accessibility standards, 
  2. there is a growing demand for accessible housing, due to Australia's ageing population and the number of Australians with disability and mobility limitations projected to almost double over the next 40 years, 
  3. there are significant challenges and exclusion that the current lack of accessible housing creates for people with disability and older people, in their own homes and any home they visit, 
  4. ensuring a consistent national approach to regulating accessibility standards in Australia would support not only people with mobility limitations but all Australians to live with dignity and support, and 
  5. NSW is one of only two states in Australia that have not yet committed to adopting the minimum accessibility standards.

(3) That this House calls on the NSW Labor Government to formally implement the new mandatory minimum accessibility standards set out in the revised National Construction Code which have been adopted by almost every state and territory in Australia, and stand with the Building Better Homes Campaign in supporting the quality of life of Australians with mobility limitations. 

Join 50,459 other supporters in taking action